Skip to main content

Solemn declaration of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of China concerning the Philippine Senate Bill 2699 and House Bill 3216

No. 001 February 6, 2009 The Philippine Senate and House of Representatives passed Senate Bill 2699 on January 28 and House Bill 3216 on February 2 respectively, incorporating Huangyan Dao(or the Scarborough Shoal for the Philippines), in Macclesfield Bank, and part of the Spratly Islands into Philippine territory. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of China solemnly declares as follows: 1.In terms of either history, geography, reality or international law, the Spratly Islands, Paracel Islands, Macclesfield Islands, Pratas Islands, as well as the surrounding waters, are the existent territories of the Republic of China. The fact that sovereignty of these areas belongs to our government is undeniable, Taiwan enjoys and deserves all rights accordingly. Any sovereignty claims over, or occupation of, these islands and their surrounding waters will not be recognized by the government of the Republic of China. 2.The Government of the Republic of China calls on the Philippine government to abide by the principles and spirit of the UN Charter, UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, and the Declaration on the Conduct of Parties in the South China Sea in order to peacefully solve through dialogue any dispute involving the issue of the South China Sea.(E)