Skip to main content

Dr. Andrey Kovatchev, Vice Chairman of the European Parliament-Taiwan Friendship Group, leads a delegation to Taiwan

  • Date:2017-12-22
  • Data Source:Public Diplomacy Coordination Council

December 17, 2017

Dr. Andrey Kovatchev, Quaestor of the European Parliament and Vice Chairman of the EP-Taiwan Friendship Group, is leading a cross-party delegation to Taiwan from December 17 to 22, 2017, at the invitation of the government of the Republic of China (Taiwan). The ROC Ministry of Foreign Affairs welcomes the visit.

The delegation will meet with President Tsai Ing-wen and President of the Legislative Yuan Su Jia-chyuan. They will also call at the National Security Council, the Ministry of Economic Affairs, the Ministry of Labor, the Environmental Protection Administration, the Mainland Affairs Council, and the Taipei City government, as well as attend a luncheon hosted by MOFA. In addition, the delegation will visit other sites of cultural and economic interest, such as the National Palace Museum.

The purpose of the visit is to gain a better understanding of Taiwan’s economic and political development, the current status of cross-strait relations, as well as issues pertaining to sustainable development and Taiwan-EU ties, so as to solidify support of Taiwan’s current policies and Taiwan-EU exchanges.

The members of the EP represent the more than 500 million citizens of the 28 EU member states. The EP has passed numerous resolutions in favor of Taiwan, supporting Schengen Area visa-waiver treatment for ROC nationals, endorsing Taiwan’s participation in major international organizations, and urging the European Commission to launch negotiations with Taiwan on investment protection and market access. In a resolution adopted on December 13 concerning the annual report on the implementation of the Common Foreign and Security Policy, the EP clearly stated that maintaining peace and stability in the Asia-Pacific is in line with the interests of the EU and its member states, calling on parties concerned in the East China Sea, South China Sea, and Taiwan Strait to resolve differences in a peaceful manner and not unilaterally change the status quo. Furthermore, the EP reiterated support for Taiwan’s participation in international organizations and activities, once again demonstrating its longstanding friendship with Taiwan.

The other members of the delegation are Isabella De Monte of the Committee on Transport and Tourism; Jens Gieseke of the Committee on Environment, Public Health and Food Safety; Sven Schulze of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy; Csaba Sógor of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs; and Ms. Laura Déruaz, assistant to Chairman Werner Langen of the EP-Taiwan Friendship Group. (E)