Skip to main content

MOFA announces reciprocal visa-free treatment between Republic of China (Taiwan) and Republic of Paraguay effective July 12

  • Date:2017-07-12
  • Data Source:Public Diplomacy Coordination Council

July 12, 2017

To highlight the significance of the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the Republic of China (Taiwan) and the Republic of Paraguay, and to commemorate the two countries’ profound six-decade friendship, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs today announced that Taiwanese and Paraguayan nationals will enjoy reciprocal visa-free treatment for a stay of up to 90 days per trip with immediate effect.

Taiwanese and Paraguayan nationals seeking visa-free entry into Paraguay and Taiwan, respectively, must (1) hold a standard passport valid for at least six months; (2) hold a return flight (boat) ticket, or a flight (boat) ticket and a valid visa for an onward destination; and (3) possess no criminal record, as verified by immigration units upon arrival at an airport or port in their country of destination.

Paraguay began to grant Taiwanese nationals 90-day landing visas on November 20, 2012, and has been included in Taiwan’s eVisa program since it was launched on January 12, 2016. With July 12, 2017, marking the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic ties between the ROC and the Republic of Paraguay, the two countries decided to observe this important date by announcing reciprocal visa-free treatment, thus commemorating their longstanding and warm friendship. The new measure will allow Taiwan and Paraguay to enjoy increasingly close interactions, at multiple levels, in such areas as tourism, business, trade and academic exchange. (E)