Skip to main content

ROC expands eVisa program

  • Date:2016-10-07
  • Data Source:Public Diplomacy Coordination Council

October 7, 2016

The ROC today expanded its eVisa program, which was originally launched on January 12, 2016. Nationals of nine additional countries are now eligible for eVisas, i.e., Bahrain, Dominica, Kuwait, Montenegro, Oman, the Philippines (one-year trial basis), Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

Following comprehensive evaluations that took into consideration both border security and promotion of business travel, the eVisa program was expanded to attract distinguished visitors, including those from Muslim countries. The program already covered citizens from 27 countries—including the ROC’s diplomatic allies—as well as foreign nationals invited to attend international conferences, sporting events, trade fairs, or other activities organized, co-organized, or sponsored by central government agencies. A convenient, one-stop online service is available for eligible eVisa candidates, who fill out an application form, pay the required fee by credit card, and receive their eVisa through email upon approval of their application.

The eVisa program is part of the ROC government’s efforts to enhance its information infrastructure, attract a wide array of visitors, and keep pace with the increased use of electronic travel documents worldwide. Given its success so far, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, when deemed necessary, will consult with other government agencies about incorporating more countries and types of visitors into the program, also taking into account measures adopted by other countries to enhance visa privileges for ROC nationals.

For more information on the eVisa, please refer to the eVisa FAQ online ( To apply for an eVisa, please visit the Bureau of Consular Affairs website ( (E)